pakwanstripes

cats, books, comics, yoga, crochet and Japanese Culture

Hockey and Music: Review of The Deal, Off-Campus Book 1 by Elle Kennedy

Leave a comment

Title :  The Deal
Off-Campus Book 1
Au
thor: Elle Kennedy
Date Published: February 24, 2015
Language: English
Buy Links: Amazon ¦ Kobo

synopsis 2

She’s about to make a deal with the college bad boy…

Hannah Wells has finally found someone who turns her on. But while she might be confident in every other area of her life, she’s carting around a full set of baggage when it comes to sex and seduction. If she wants to get her crush’s attention, she’ll have to step out of her comfort zone and make him take notice…even if it means tutoring the annoying, childish, cocky captain of the hockey team in exchange for a pretend date.

…and it’s going to be oh so good

All Garrett Graham has ever wanted is to play professional hockey after graduation, but his plummeting GPA is threatening everything he’s worked so hard for. If helping a sarcastic brunette make another guy jealous will help him secure his position on the team, he’s all for it. But when one unexpected kiss leads to the wildest sex of both their lives, it doesn’t take long for Garrett to realize that pretend isn’t going to cut it. Now he just has to convince Hannah that the man she wants looks a lot like him.

review

I loved The Deal. This is my first Elle Kennedy book. I was expecting a short quick read and was greatly surprised at how much I got caught up in it. I did not expect to absolutely love it (and I’ve got three reasons to boot!)

First, her characters. Elle Kennedy creates great characters. Hannah is smart and snarky. Although she didn’t want to tutor Garrett, a clandestine agreement was forged because of her need to get her crush to notice her. She is passionate and dedicated to her music as she finds it a way to deal with things. “Almost immediately, my head clears and my heart feels lighter. I am whole again, because music has made me that way, just like it did after the rape.” I loved Hannah because despite everything that has happened to her, she is still kind and just couldn’t resist helping Garrett anyway.

Garret, is also a great character. I.Love.Him!! His charm lies on his wit and perceptiveness. And he is just persistent! “Clearly Hannah Wells hasn’t been around many athletes. We’re a stubborn lot, and the main thing we all have in common? We never give up” I loved how Kennedy made Garret so focused on his goals. Although he hooks up a lot, he is disciplined when it comes to his academics and his hockey.

Secondly the humor and chemistry. I love the palpable chemistry between Hannah and Garret. Right from the start, you know they’re meant for each other. There is an easy banter that comes out so natural between them and I loved how equal they are in wit and snark. Garret just teases out the humor from Hannah and Hannah absolutely matches anything he throws at her. I loved how they began as forced allies becoming good friends and in the end, a loving couple, and you can just feel everything through all that dialogue.

Finally, the theme. Whilst this is about college students falling in love, it’s also about rape and domestic abuse. Kennedy may have given them both a sad past, but they have equally strong personalities. Together, they learn to stand up for themselves, to love and to live again. Which takes me to the theme that strikes me the most, looking beyond pre-conceived ideas. Through out the story, Hannah and Garret have stereotype ideas about each other. But as the story progressed, they discover so much about each other that it goes beyond what they initially thought, and it brings them closer together.

I love LOVE The Deal by Elle Kennedy. It is such a wonderful read. Her characters are well written, the narration engaging and the romance, absotively-posulutely swoontastic. And I always love a book that makes me laugh. I regret that it took me this long to read something by Elle Kennedy and now my TBR pile has just increased dramatically.

Note: Got an ARC of this book for an honest review.

abt auth 2
Follow Elle Kennedy: Website ¦ Facebook ¦ Twitter ¦ Goodreads

Author: Lorn (pakwanstripes)

Yogi, book lover, comic book reader, cat moma and diabetic :)

Leave a Reply

