pakwanstripes

cats, books, comics, yoga, crochet and Japanese Culture

Review : A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

Leave a comment

Title :  A Thousand Pieces of You
Book#1 of The Firebird Series
Author: Claudia Gray
Date Published: November 4, 2014
Language: English
Buy Links: Amazon ¦ B&N ¦ Indie Bound
Add to Goodreads

synopsis

Every Day meets Cloud Atlas in this heart-racing, space- and time-bending, epic new trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray.

Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their radical scientific achievements. Their most astonishing invention: the Firebird, which allows users to jump into parallel universes, some vastly altered from our own. But when Marguerite’s father is murdered, the killer—her parent’s handsome and enigmatic assistant Paul—escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite can’t let the man who destroyed her family go free, and she races after Paul through different universes, where their lives entangle in increasingly familiar ways. With each encounter she begins to question Paul’s guilt—and her own heart. Soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is more sinister than she ever could have imagined.

A Thousand Pieces of You explores a reality where we witness the countless other lives we might lead in an amazingly intricate multiverse, and ask whether, amid infinite possibilities, one love can endure.

review

I was a bit skeptical reading this book, but with a little book push from my friend Camille (@girlmeetsbooks), I got a copy and voila! Travel to different dimensions!

The story starts with Marguerite Caine arriving at her first jump, Londonverse. Straight into the action, she roams around, trying to come to terms with what has happened and trying to find her father’s killer. Marguerite is nothing but determined and strong willed, something that I always look for in female protagonists.

Paul and Theo, the two male characters are different sides of the same coin. Paul is an introvert, and ironically, believing in destiny while Theo is a charismatic  extrovert, with certain vices of his own. But undeniably, they both love science, their research and Marguerite.

A Thousand Pieces of You explores how one decision can change lives, thus creating many dimensions, different possibilities. I loved Gray’s narration. It is captivating and held me until the last page. The story is in Marguerite’s PoV and we get a glimpse of her world, her normal, through her flashbacks. I loved how she learns about the different versions of herself, of Paul, Theo and her family. And in introspect, she also learns more about her self. It is this act of collecting pieces of herself from others that pulled me in the most.

I also liked how Gray handled the bodily travel of things. What usually frustrates me is when inter dimensional characters try not to bump into their other self. Thankfully, there isn’t any of that here. What we have instead is that the traveler’s consciousness inhibits the body of the current dimension’s. Of course, there are consequences (but you’ll have to read it to find out) and there are ethical questions discussed in the book about it.

I would have loved for Marguerite to travel to a few more dimensions, but then, it’s just the first book, so I’m expecting alot more dimensions in the coming books. And being a sci-fi fan, maybe the it would have been better if there were alot more sci-fi in the book, but I do love the way Gray wrote the romance, so I can let go a little of it.

I used to clip short stories I read from the news papers when I was in college and friend of mine once asked me why I do it. I told him it was because I find pieces of myself in them. It was this conversation I remembered when I read the book. A Thousand Pieces of You is a great story (with a beautiful cover, btw)  about finding yourself through other people, like picking many tiny specks of light from millions of stars and to find out in that in the end, those tiny pieces make up a such a huge brightness that is you.about author

Claudia Gray is not my real name. I didn’t choose a pseudonym because my real name is unpleasant (it isn’t), because I’d always dreamed of calling myself this (I haven’t) or even because I’m hiding from the remnants of that international diamond-smuggling cartel I smashed in 2003 (Interpol has taken care of them). In short, I took a pseudonym for no real reason whatsoever. Sometimes this is actually the best reason to do things.

I live in New Orleans. So far, in life, I’ve been a disc jockey, a lawyer, a journalist and an extremely bad waitress, just to name a few. I especially like to spend time traveling, hiking, reading and listening to music. More than anything else, I enjoy writing.

Follow Claudia Gray:  Website | Twitter | FacebookGoodreads

 

 

Author: Lorn (pakwanstripes)

Yogi, book lover, comic book reader, cat moma and diabetic :)

Leave a Reply

