pakwanstripes

cats, books, comics, yoga, crochet and Japanese Culture

Blog Tour Review: You and Everything After, Book 2 of The Falling Series by Ginger Scott

Leave a comment

We’re celebrating the release of You and Everything After by Ginger Scott!

Title: You and Everything After
Author: Ginger Scott

Age: NA
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release date: Dec 5, 2014
Add to Goodreads
Buy Links Amazon | iTunes 

synopsis

I’m that teenaged girl who has MS. You haven’t met me, but you’ve seen me around. You probably know my sister. We’re twins, and she’s the pretty one. Maybe you’ve heard about my reputation, how much I like to hook up at parties—how easy it is to get me in bed, get what you want, and forget about me after.

Forget what you think you know. I’m leaving that girl behind.

College is all about new beginnings. So from now on—I’m just Cass. And the rest…it isn’t written yet. And no one else gets to write my story for me.

——–

“Tyson Preeter doesn’t do can’t.”

That’s exactly what I want people to think when they see me. I am strong, invincible, confident, intelligent—arrogant. I’m the man who always finds a way around, over and through—until there’s nothing left. Since losing my ability to walk six years ago, I’ve relearned life. I don’t need sympathy. I don’t want charity. And I don’t do love.

It’s better this way, saves my disappointments for me, and me alone, and it saves my strength for everything I want.

But Cass Owens is about to wreck everything. She’s about to steal all of my strength away from me, because she needs it more. She’s about to break all of my rules, and break down all of my walls. She’s about to own me…completely.

And I’m about to let her.

review

You and Everything After is the second book of Ginger Scott’s The Falling Series.

Tyson Pretter has been a paraplegic since he was sixteen, after a well meaning act turns into a tragic accident, leaving him paralyzed from the waist down. But this doesn’t stop him from doing anything. Ty is a great character. He refuses to sugar coat his situation and, cocky as he may be, he calls a spade a spade and faces everything head on. Very much like the big brother he is, he knows that he has to be strong for Nate, because Nate depends on him, even if Ty has his own issues to deal with. I love how he just believes in the strength of everyone, how he pushed Cass to be stronger than her MS. He compliments her exactly.

Cass was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis. After a not so happy high school, she enrolls in a college where she hopes she can forge a new identity. Cass feels damaged and because of her sickness, her family refuses to see her as anything but fragile. Cass, to me is the symbol of new beginnings. I admire her, like I admired Rowe, for wanting to be more than her problems.

Ginger Scott also makes beautiful relationships. It’s one of the things I really really loved about this series, specially in this book. The second book solidifies the friendship of the girls (yes, Paige included), and the love of the Preeeter boys with each other.You can see how Scott clearly values all these things by giving her chacters meaningful relationships, even if it is disguised by teasing and sometimes, scolding.

My favourite is that that scene when Cass and Paige see Rowe’s scars for the first time. It was these girls’ moment. To be able to find people who would accept and understand you, and most importantly, make you feel safe, without having to say anything. It was a very beautiful and significant scene. Yes, Scott, I give you that.

Paige’s character is also explored a little in this book. We see a little more substance to her, including her own issues, and her relationship with Cass,  how she attempts to make things better for them both.

I also loved how Ty and Nate would look out for each other. Clearly they have each other’s back, even if Ty would whine about Nate’s moping and how Nate would complain about Ty’s Older brother bulying. And that southern accent. I think the charm of that accent is worse when it’s left to the reader’s imagination.

And lastly, I love how Scott makes good use of the parents of all her characters. They provide solid background characterizations for the main characters. Whether they are over protective or supportive or screwed up, you can see how their being parents affect the way the Cass and Ty think of themselves.

All in all, You and Everything After is a great read. It can be read alone, but, in my opinion, its better to read it after This Is Falling. Scott’s writing is clear and very engaging. And since it happens the same time as This is Falling, she provides a wonderful point of view from the other characters, giving the events more significance,without dwelling too much on the first book. There will be third book, which will be Paige’s story. Which, in my opinion, is something to look forward to.

Book One, This is Falling

Add to Goodreads
Buy Links: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Kobo

 

about author

Ginger Scott is a writer and journalist from Peoria, Arizona. She is the author of four young and new adult romances, with her fifth title, This Is Falling, set to release in late August 2014.

Scott has been writing and editing for newspapers, magazines and blogs for more than 15 years. She has told the stories of Olympians, politicians, actors, scientists, cowboys, criminals and towns. For more on her and her work, visit her website at http://www.littlemisswrite.com.

When she’s not writing, the odds are high that she’s somewhere near a baseball diamond, either watching her son field pop flies like Bryce Harper or cheering on her favorite baseball team, the Arizona Diamondbacks. Scott is married to her college sweetheart whom she met at ASU (fork ’em, Devils).

Connect with Ginger Scott:  Website: Little Miss Write |Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

 

Author: Lorn (pakwanstripes)

Yogi, book lover, comic book reader, cat moma and diabetic :)

Leave a Reply

