pakwanstripes

cats, books, comics, yoga, crochet and Japanese Culture

Filipino Friday: Have you ever wanted to write a book?

Leave a comment

filipinofriday

Filipino Fridays is a weekly meme that started with the Filipino Book Bloggers, and has evolved into a yearly pre-Filipino ReaderCon tradition. Every Friday, a topic will be posted and all Filipino readers are encouraged to make their own post about it. Anyone can join as long as your post can be viewed by everyone else – you can post it on Tumblr, Blogspot, WordPress or any other social networking site, just make sure to set it to public. Filipino Friday is a chance to have fun and interact with other Filipino Book Bloggers who you will most probably meet in person if you’re joining the ReaderCon with us. 🙂

 

This week’s topic:

As a reader, have you ever thought about writing a book? What kind of books/stories do you want to write? Or are you now a published author, and what compelled you to go fulfil this dream? How was your journey from reader to writer? How did you go about getting your book out there?

 When I was in my fourth grade, I started writing  a book (heavily influenced by Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women)  but it seemed like it took forever to finish (aside from the fact that I didn’t really have any specific plot in mind. As long they were four sister, it was fine with me LOL). The following year, I tried writing something heavily influenced by the Mission Impossible series (which suffered the same fate as the one I tried to write first).  So I realized that I didn’t have the patience to write something so long.

When I was in college, I started writing children’s short stories. I have always loved the Adarna Books (Chenelyn! Chenelyn! and Ang Pambihirang Buhok Ni Raquel are my faves) and I realized that children’s stories were something I really enjoyed. I never got published, mind you. (Does posting it in wattpad count? 😀 )  And my works stayed within the confines of  our Creative Writing Class for Filipino at UST. But I’d like to give  credit to Mr. Vim Nadera for encouraging me to write whatever I could and it was through his class that I found out I loved to write children’s short stories. Maybe one day, I’d like to get published. Who knows?  I ‘d love it if  kids  would read more. There are so many wonderful children’s books out there, it would be such a waste for them to not have the chance to read atleast one.

 

Author: Lorn (pakwanstripes)

Yogi, book lover, comic book reader, cat moma and diabetic :)

Leave a Reply

