pakwanstripes

cats, books, comics, yoga, crochet and Japanese Culture

Thirsty Thursdays #12: Steamiest Almost Kiss

Leave a comment

Thirsty

 

“Thirsty Thursdays” is an original weekly feature from the Lazy Book Lovers where we highlight all that makes our mouth water in the world of books. Every week, pick either a quote, book cover, book boyfriend or kiss from our favorite books, that makes us all swoony.

This week, its that steamiest almost kiss. Almost, being the key word. Isn’t it just frustrating when the character your rooting for doesn’t get the kiss you thought they ought to get? Gyaah!

 

FSOG
“Shit, Ana!” Grey cries. He tugs the hand that he’s holding so hard that I fall back against him just as a cyclist whips past, narrowly missing me, heading the wrong way up this one-way street.

 It all happens so fast – one minute I’m falling, the next I’m in his arms and he’s holding me tightly against his chest. I inhale his clean, vital scent. He smells of fresh laundered linen and some expensive body wash. Oh my, it’s intoxicating. I inhale deeply.

 “Are you okay?” he whispers. He has one arm around me, clasping me to him, while the fingers of his other hand softly trace my face, gently probing, examining me. His thumb brushes my lower lip, and I hear his breath hitch. He’s staring into my eyes, and I hold his anxious, burning gaze for a moment or maybe it’s forever… but eventually, my attention is drawn to his beautiful mouth. Oh my. And for the first time in twenty-one years, I want to be kissed. I want to feel his mouth on me.

Kiss me damn it! I implore him, but I can’t move. I’m paralyzed with a strange, unfamiliar need, completely captivated by him. I’m staring at Christian Grey’s exquisitely sculptured mouth, mesmerized, and he’s looking down at me, his gaze hooded, his eyes darkening. He’s breathing harder than usual, and I’ve stopped breathing altogether. I’m in your arms. Kiss me, please. He closes his eyes, takes a deep breath, and gives me a small shake of his head as if in answer to my silent question. When he opens his eyes again, it’s with some new purpose, a steely resolve.

 “Anastasia, you should steer clear of me. I’m not the man for you,” he whispers. What? Where is this coming from? Surely I should be the judge of that. I frown up at him, and my head swims with rejection.

“Breathe, Anastasia, breathe. I’m going to stand you up and let you go,” he says quietly, and he gently pushes me away.

– Ana and Christian
Chapters 3 and 4
Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

Mr. Grey and Ms. Steele. Once in a while, its always nice to go back to the beginnings of  my romance novel reading. This is one of my favourite scenes in the book. Most of us know what the aftermath is, I guess. As Mr. Grey would say, “Fuck the paperwork”  And by the way, Happy Birthday, Mrs. Grey!

Visit Nikkie and Keira for their Thirsty Thursday pick at the Lazy Book Lovers and all the others who have participate for Thirsty Thursday. Check out my friend Camille at Girl Meets Books for her Thirsty Thursday!

Author: Lorn (pakwanstripes)

Yogi, book lover, comic book reader, cat moma and diabetic :)

Leave a Reply

