pakwanstripes

cats, books, comics, yoga, crochet and Japanese Culture

Finding a way back to life. Review: This is Falling by Ginger Scott

Leave a comment

FallingCover

Title : This is Falling
(Part #1 of The Falling Series)
Author: Ginger Scott
Date Published: August 29, 2014
Language: English
Buy Links: Amazon, Barnes & Nobles
Add to Goodreads

 

 

 

synopsis

First, I had to remember how to breathe. Then, I had to learn how to survive. Two years, three months and sixteen days had passed since I was the Rowe Stanton from before, since tragedy stole my youth and my heart went along with it.

When I left for college, I put a thousand miles between my future and my past. I’d made a choice—I was going to cross back to the other side, to live with the living. I just didn’t know how.

And then I met Nate Preeter.

An All-American baseball player, Nate wasn’t supposed to notice a ghost-of-a-girl like me. But he did. He shouldn’t want to know my name. But he did. And when he learned my secret and saw the scars it left behind, he was supposed to run. But he didn’t.

My heart was dead, and I was never supposed to belong to anyone. But Nate Preeter had me feeling, and he made me want to be his. He showed me everything I was missing.

And then he showed me how to fall.

 

review

Ginger Scott tackles some significant issues in this book. On top, is the romance forming between Rowe and Nate. But at the background she explores how traumatic experiences, like a school shooting, affect the lives of the children, and the process of healing that comes after.

Rowe Stanton is now hoping to live her life. A horrible experience caused her to retreat into herself for two years, but she knows she can’t live in the past forever.

Nate comes to the university to play baseball, graduate and be with his brother. Two freshmen, hoping for a fresh start in the same school.

I like Rowe’s character. Kudos to Scott, for gifting her with a fierce determination to live her life. Of course, her healing process is slow but I liked how she tried right from the start to get over her fears. I’ve always believed that the first step to healing is admitting you have a problem, and Rowe, in fact, did just that. All throughout the story, we see Rowe struggle to let go of her past and to welcome her future. She hesitates along the way, but for every step back, she takes two steps forward. Once in a while, her character has inconsistent mood swings, but overall, I love Rowe.

Nate, on the other hand, is the good guy. I’m glad he’s not so jaded about his previous heartbreak so in the area of background issues, the book can focus on Rowe. He loves his brother, Ty and although he started doing it for Ty, in the end, he does his best for himself. He is a solid character, consistent and patient. It is from him that Rowe draws her strength from.

The supporting characters are notable, with the Nate’s older brother, Ty, and Rowe’s roomies, Cass and Paige. Ty has a lot of personality going on with him and I’d be looking forward to his and Cass story, which Scott has already promised.

Overall, it was a great read. I love the cover of the book. The writing is good and was off to a nice start. Although I felt like it slowed down a little on the middle, it picked up again for a good finish. I enjoyed the dialogues and the humor and had a great time trying to read Nate’s lines out loud (just so I can hear how he’d sound when I read him, southern accent and all xD). It was a nice touch by Scott, to have social media play an important part in Rowe’s recovery, with writing as therapy and the alternating PoVs are always something I enjoy, especially with romance novels. I would be looking forward to the next book, which is all about Ty and Cass.

To know more about Ginger Scott and her books, visit her website, Little Miss Write,  facebook page and goodreads page.

Disclaimer: This book was given to me courtesy of netgalley for an honest review.

Author: Lorn (pakwanstripes)

Yogi, book lover, comic book reader, cat moma and diabetic :)

Leave a Reply

