pakwanstripes

cats, books, comics, yoga, crochet and Japanese Culture

My Mat, my friend

2 Comments

Three years ago, I started doing yoga, albeit on and off. Like everything else, it is a fun and challenging journey. Yoga tends to show you what you can do and what you can’t. It pushes you to the edge, but not enough that you’d fall off. And if you get too cheeky, it humbles you. There are days you can do a pose perfectly and there are days when you just have to accept your limitations. Through all these times, my mat has been my companion, it has seen me stumble through balance poses and has seen me soar with my first headstand. It has endured every pull and every sweat I give it. It has been the constant in a practice that always surprises me. When I have days when I don’t want to practice I look at my mat and it sort of tells me “Just step on me and everything will be okay”. And my mat was right. Everything will be okay.

Thank you my mat, my friend.

Author: Lorn (pakwanstripes)

Yogi, book lover, comic book reader, cat moma and diabetic :)

2 thoughts on “My Mat, my friend

  1. You forgot someone else… your cats! 🙂 who are constantly trying to wrestle the mat away from you? LOL 🙂

    Like

  2. @Camille

    Ikr! They just hate it when my attention isn’t on them xD

    Like

Leave a Reply

